N.C. people named to SBC committees
    May 7 2010 by Baptist Press

    ORLANDO, Fla. — Nominees to serve on the Southern Baptist Convention (SBC) Executive Committee, the four denominational boards — International Mission Board, North American Mission Board, LifeWay Christian Resources and GuideStone Financial Resources — the Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission, the six seminaries and the Committee on Order of Business have been selected by the 2010 SBC Committee on Nominations.

    Nominees will serve if elected by the messengers to the annual meeting of the Southern Baptist Convention, June 15-16 in Orlando, Florida.

    Below is a list of the North Carolinians serving in various capacities:
    • Executive Committee (83 members): 20 nominations considered; 7 new members; 13 renominations. Nominated for term to expire in 2012 is Joan Mitchell, Durham.
    • International Mission Board (90 members): 22 nominations considered; 11 new members; 11 renominations. Nominated for term to expire in 2012 is Elizabeth B. (Beth) Harris, layperson and member of First Baptist Church, Charlotte, replacing Donna L. Nealy, Boone, who resigned. Nominated for a second term is Robert H. Jackson, Troutman.
    • North American Mission Board (58 members): 18 nominations considered; 8 new members; 10 renominations. Nominated for a second term is Todd W. Garren, Lincolnton.
    • Southern Seminary (43 members): 8 nominations considered; 4 new members; 4 renominations. Nominated for a second term is T. Scott Eanes, Statesville.
    • Midwestern Seminary (35 members): 7 nominations considered; 3 new members; 4 renominations. Nominee with term to expire in 2015, replacing members ineligible for re-election include William D. Bowyer, senior pastor, Wake Crossroads Baptist Church, Raleigh, replacing Shannon Allen Scott, Raleigh.
    Committee on Committees
    The Committee on Committees will assemble in Orlando, Fla., just prior to the SBC June 15-16 annual meeting to nominate members of the Committee on Nominations who, in turn, nominate trustees to serve on boards of the various entities of the SBC.

    The Committee on Committees has 70 members, two from each of the 35 state or regional conventions qualified for representation on boards of SBC entities.

    For North Carolina: Steve Burrow, Enochville First Baptist Church, Kannapolis; Stan Welch, West Asheville Baptist Church, Asheville.

    SBC Credentials Committee
    Clay Stevens of Cross Culture Church in Raleigh will serve from North Carolina.  

    Tellers Committee
    Dave Praytor of Red Mountain Baptist Church, Rougemont and Jack Hildreth of Emmanuel Baptist Church, Monroe.

    Related stories
    GCR report tops SBC annual meeting agenda
    Five nominees for top three SBC posts
    N.C. people named to SBC committees
    5/7/2010 4:48:00 AM by Baptist Press | with 0 comments

Blog post currently doesn't have any comments.
 Security code