N.C. Baptists nominees for SBC leadership
    May 31 2013 by BR staff

    Fred Luter, Southern Baptist Convention president, recently announced appointments to the SBC’s Committee on Committees.
    This committee will serve in Houston, Texas, just prior to the convention’s annual meeting June 11-12. It will nominate members of the Committee on Nominations who, in turn, will nominate trustees to serve on various SBC boards. SBC Bylaw 19 also provides that the Committee on Committees “shall nominate all special committees authorized during the sessions of the Convention not otherwise provided for.” Two people from each of the areas served by the 35 state or regional conventions make up the 70 members.
    North Carolina is represented by Rit Varriale, pastor of Elizabeth Baptist Church in Shelby, and J. Bartley Wooten, senior pastor of Beulaville Baptist Church in Beulaville.
    Nominees were also announced recently for service on the SBC Executive Committee, the four denominational boards – International Mission Board, North American Mission Board, LifeWay Christian Resources, and GuideStone Financial Resources – the Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission, the six seminaries, and the Committee on Order of Business. These nominees were chosen by the 2013 SBC Committee on Nominations. The nominees will be presented at the SBC annual meeting for approval.

    Stanley J. Welch, pastor of West Asheville Baptist Church in Asheville, has been nominated for a term to expire in 2016 for a spot on the Executive Committee. If approved, Welch will replace Ed Yount, senior pastor of Woodlawn Baptist Church in Conover, who resigned.
    There were two N.C. Baptists nominated for a second term on the Executive Committee also: Bryan “Scott” Davis of Concord and Jeffrey “Jeff” B. Watson of Winston-Salem. On GuideStone’s board, George B. Walker of Greensboro is ineligible for re-election. His term will expire in 2017. Jack M. Stancil, a layperson and member of Christ Baptist Church in Raleigh, has been chosen as a nominee for Walker’s spot.
    For LifeWay, David H. Horner, pastor of Providence Baptist Church in Raleigh, has been nominated for a second term. Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary has A. Earle Finley II of Raleigh being nominated for a second term. The term for David K. Wagoner of Charlotte is expiring in 2018. Melinda Delahoyde, a layperson and member of Providence Baptist Church in Raleigh, has been nominated to replace Wagoner.
    Mike Cummings of Bear Swamp Baptist Church in Pembroke, was named as a member of the Credentials Committee.
    (EDITOR’S NOTE – For more about the Southern Baptist Convention, visit here.)
    5/31/2013 3:03:56 PM by BR staff | with 0 comments
    Filed under: leadership, Luter, SBC

Blog post currently doesn't have any comments.
 Security code