Executive Committee names search group
    September 23 2009 by Art Toalston, Baptist Press

    NASHVILLE, Tenn. — A seven-member search committee has been named to seek a successor for Morris Chapman, president of the Southern Baptist Convention’s (SBC) Executive Committee (EC).
    Executive Committee Chairman Randall James named himself and six others to the committee. James had been authorized by a vote of the Executive Committee to name the committee after Chapman announced Sept. 21 that he will retire Sept. 30, 2010.
    Joining James, a Floridian, on the presidential search committee are Executive Committee members Martha Lawley of Wyoming, Clarence J. Cooper of Mississippi, David O. Dykes of Texas, Doug Melton of Oklahoma, Jay F. Shell of Arkansas and Danny S. Sinquefield of Tennessee.
    James said he hopes the committee will be able to present a nominee by next June’s SBC annual meeting in Orlando, Fla. Names submitted to the committee will be held in “the strictest of confidence,” James said, requesting that potential candidates’ names be submitted by Dec. 1.
    James is an assistant pastor of First Baptist Church in Orlando. He has served as Executive Committee chairman since 2008 and has been an Executive Committee member since 2003.
    Lawley, the Executive Committee’s secretary and committee member since 2004, is an author and speaker and member of First Southern Baptist Church in Worland, Wyo.
    Cooper is pastor of Brandon (Miss.) Baptist Church and a committee member since 2004.
    Dykes is pastor of Green Acres Baptist Church in Tyler, Texas, and a committee member since 2007.
    Melton is pastor of Southern Hills Baptist Church in Oklahoma City and a committee member since 2003.
    Shell is an attorney from Batesville, Ark., and member of West Baptist Church. He has been a committee member since 2007.
    Sinquefield is pastor of Faith Baptist Church in Bartlett, Tenn., and president of the Tennessee Baptist Convention. He became a committee member in 2009.
    James said the names of nominees for president of the Executive Committee can be addressed to Presidential Search Committee c/o SBC Executive Committee, 901 Commerce St., Nashville, TN 37203, or to him at First Baptist Church, 3000 S. John Young Pkwy., Orlando, FL 32805.

    9/23/2009 10:47:00 AM by Art Toalston, Baptist Press | with 0 comments

Blog post currently doesn't have any comments.
 Security code