2014 SBC elections draw new leadership
    June 12 2014 by Barbara Denman, Baptist Press

    In a year when the Southern Baptist Convention (SBC) focused on “Restoration & Revival Through Prayer,” Arkansas pastor Ronnie Floyd, who has sought to encourage Southern Baptists to deepen their spiritual walk through books, Sunday School material and pastor prayer meetings, has been elected as the 2014 SBC president.

    Floyd, pastor of Cross Church in northwest Arkansas for 27 years, topped fellow nominees Maryland pastor Dennis Manpoong Kim and Kentucky pastor Jared Moore to win the SBC post June 10 in Baltimore.

    Floyd was nominated by Southern Baptist Theological Seminary President R. Albert Mohler Jr., and received 51 percent of the vote. Kim and Moore were placed in nomination, respectively, by Texas pastor Dwight McKissic of Cornerstone Baptist Church in Arlington and Bennie Smith, a deacon at the Kentucky church where Moore is pastor.

    Other SBC officers elected were:

    • Clint Pressley, pastor of the Hickory Grove Baptist Church in Charlotte, N.C., elected as first vice president, nominated by Ted Traylor, pastor of Olive Baptist Church in Pensacola, Fla. Pressley is “willing and qualified” to serve, having held several SBC leadership positions, Traylor said.
    • Hance Dilbeck, pastor of Quail Springs Baptist Church in Oklahoma City, Okla., elected second vice president. He was nominated by James Merritt, pastor of Cross Pointe Church in Duluth, Ga., who called Dilbeck a leader in Hispanic church planting and Great Commission giving.
    • John Yeats, executive director of the Missouri Baptist Convention, re-elected recording secretary, a role he has served in since 1997. He was nominated by Jason Allen, president of Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary in Kansas City, Mo.
    • Jim Wells, strategic partners team leader, Missouri Baptist Convention, nominated by re-elected registration secretary, a role he has served in since 2002.

    None of the other officers faced opposition.

    Eddie Bumpers, pastor of Crossway Baptist Church in Springfield, Mo., was elected to deliver the convention sermon during the 2015 SBC meeting in Columbus, Ohio. Michael Allen of Uptown Baptist Church in Chicago was elected alternate; and Julio Arriola was elected music director.

    (EDITOR’S NOTE – Barbara Denman is the Florida Baptist Convention’s director of communications. The BR edited this report.)

    6/12/2014 10:46:41 AM by Barbara Denman, Baptist Press | with 0 comments
    Filed under: elections, leaders, SBC

Blog post currently doesn't have any comments.
 Security code