Bordeaux, Blair, McGill win BSC offices
    November 12 2013 by Dianna L. Cagle, BR Production Editor

    For the Baptist State Convention of North Carolina (BSC), it was the first time since 2005 that two candidates for president were being nominated. There were also two nominees for second vice president.

    More than 1,600 messengers gathered in Greensboro for the BSC annual meeting Nov. 11-12 at the Koury Convention Center in Greensboro.

    BSC photo by K Brown
    C.J. Bordeaux won the presidential election for the Baptist State Convention of North Carolina during its annual meeting Nov. 12 in Greensboro. Timmy Blair was elected first vice president and Cameron McGill the second vice president. From left: Timmy and Wendy Blair, C.J. and Donna Bordeaux, and Tiffany and Cameron McGill.

    With 1,082 ballots cast, 692 messengers gave 64 percent of the vote to C.J. Bordeaux, senior pastor of Gorman Baptist Church in Durham, who defeated Bobby Blanton, senior pastor of Lake Norman Baptist Church in Huntersville. Bordeaux was serving as the first vice president and replaces Mark Harris, senior pastor of First Baptist Church of Charlotte, as president.
    Blanton received 390 votes or 36 percent of the vote. Twenty-two ballots were spoiled and unable to be counted.
    Greg Mathis, senior pastor from Mud Creek Baptist Church in Hendersonville, nominated Blanton, and Ed Yount, senior pastor of Woodlawn Baptist Church in Conover, nominated Bordeaux.
    Timmy Blair Sr., senior pastor of Piney Grove Chapel Baptist Church in Angier, was the only candidate nominated for the office of first vice president. Messengers raised their ballots to approve his nomination. Stan Welch, pastor of West Asheville Baptist Church in Asheville, nominated Blair.
    The second vice president office was decided by cast ballot. Scott Faw, senior pastor of Moon’s Chapel Baptist Church in Siler City, nominated Marc Sanders, senior pastor of Sandy Creek Baptist Church in Bear Creek. Richard Hicks nominated Cameron McGill, pastor of Dublin First Baptist Church.
    With 677 ballots cast, 381 messengers voted for McGill, who defeated Sanders by 85 votes. Twenty-three ballots were spoiled and unable to be counted.
    11/12/2013 9:35:05 PM by Dianna L. Cagle, BR Production Editor | with 0 comments
    Filed under: BSC, elected officials

Blog post currently doesn't have any comments.
 Security code